If you delete an email from an iPhone/iPad using the POP3 protocol, then the email will be permanently deleted from your device.
How do I delete emails from my iPhone and server at the same time?
The only way to delete emails from all your devices at once is to set up each device with your provider’s IMAP server. That way, you can log in to any device that has direct server access via IMAP (your tablet, phone, or computer) and delete emails there.
Does deleting an email delete it from all devices?
You will see the emails in each place, because you’re downloading a “copy” of the email to each device. So when you delete an email on your desktop computer, it will still be on your mobile device. And vice versa.
Does deleting an email delete it from the server?
Accessing your email via an email client (like Thunderbird) will have similar behavior: deleting an email will usually just mark the email for deletion and it won’t truly be deleted (or expunged) from the your storage on the server until some set amount of time later (such as two weeks, set in your preferences).
What happens when you delete email from iPhone?
Deleting an Email Account From the iPhone Doesn’t Delete the Account. When an email account is deleted from an iPhone, the email account and address remain unchanged. You can still receive and send emails on the web or in other email programs set up to use the email account.
Does IMAP remove messages from server?
No. The setting you referred to with a POP account is for removing messages from the server after being downloaded. All server stored mailboxes with an IMAP account are kept symchronized with the server with each email client used to access the account.
Does POP3 delete email from server?
By default, when you retrieve new messages from a POP3 email account, the messages are deleted from the POP3 mail server and then saved on the computer that you are using. Because the message is no longer on the POP3 mail server, you can’t see it when you connect from another computer.
How do I stop my emails from deleting on all my devices?
To do this, follow these steps: Open up the Email app. Tap the menu button, and click Settings. Tap Account settings. Tap the account you want to configure. Tap More Settings. Tap Incoming settings. Scroll to the bottom and look for Delete email from server.
How do I delete emails from all Apple devices at the same time?
For each device you have to change the Delete from Server setting. MacBook: From Mail app Mail > Preferences > Accounts > select the account > Advanced check “remove copy from server after retrieving” box then select your prefered option from the drop down box.
What happens if I remove an email account from my phone?
When you remove an account, everything associated with that account is also deleted from your phone. This includes email, contacts, and settings.
How long do servers keep deleted emails?
If you’ve permanently deleted an item in Microsoft Outlook or Outlook on the web (formerly known as Outlook Web App), the item is moved to a folder (Recoverable Items > Deletions) and kept there for 14 days, by default. You can change how long items are kept, up to a maximum of 30 days.
How do I delete emails after server is downloaded?
Select your mailbox and click on “change”. Click in the bottom right on “More settings” and go to the “Advanced” tab. Under “Delivery”, check the options “Leave a copy of messages on the server” and “Remove from server after removal from ‘deleted items’”.
How do I delete emails from server?
Follow these steps: Open the Email app and visit the inbox. Touch the Action Overflow icon and choose the Settings command. Choose an e-mail account. Choose the Incoming Settings item. Below the item Delete Email from Server, choose the option When I Delete from Inbox. Touch the Done button.
How do I delete an email account from my iPhone without deleting contacts?
How do I delete an email account from my iPhone without losing To delete an email account from your iPhone. Open the Settings app and scroll down to “Mail, Contacts, Calendars.” Tap on the email account you want to delete and select “Delete Account” at the bottom.
Does deleting an email delete it from all devices Gmail?
If you close an app immediately you have deleted a message, it will not have time to sync back to the server so not only will the delete not happen on all other devices, but you will find the same message reappears on the device where you deleted it next time you open the app.
Do IMAP emails stay on server?
If you have an IMAP, or HTTP (such as Gmail or Outlook.com ) account, mail isn’t stored on your computer. All email remains on the mail server until you delete it.
How do I stop IMAP messages from being deleted from server?
Right click on folder and select ‘compact’. You can set Thunderbird to auto expunge deleted emails off server here: “Tools -> Account Settings -> Server Settings for the IMAP mail account Select: Clean up (“Expunge”) Inbox on Exit it will compact the Inbox folder when you exit Thunderbird.
How do I recover a deleted email from IMAP server?
To restore messages that are marked for deletion but not moved: Select the deleted message. To select more than one item, press CTRL while clicking the items that you want. On the Home tab, in the Delete group, click Undelete.